Come Get Your Honey… Robyn Releases Album Title Track ‘Honey’

For a minute there, “Honey” was earning mythical status. After all, the track was first teased in late 2016. Lena Dunham had asked Robyn to create a song specifically for the final season of Girls. Already working on new music, she agreed, and sent some ideas to Dunham. She picked a song, and the first incarnation of “Honey” was introduced to the world. Two long years later, the finished product is finally here and no surprise… I’m in love.

Honey” unveiled today, exactly a month before the Swedish singer’s forthcoming album arrives on October 26 via Konichiwa/Interscope Records. New York Times Pop Music Editor Caryn Ganz recently spoke with the 39-year-old singer about the title track. Check both the track and Robyn’s thoughts on the song below.

“Fans seized on the song immediately and started demanding that Robyn finish it: Variations on #ReleaseHoneyDamnit became a running online plea and gag. Robyn saw the messages. But she was far from done with “Honey.” The track became a white whale for her: She just couldn’t put it down.

Though she’s written many songs that stand at the crossroads of pop and club music, Robyn knew where she wanted “Honey” to be planted. “It’s not produced or written as a normal pop song,” she said. “It is totally based on this idea of club music.” Both genres come with their own mode of listening, she argued. “When you’re listening to club music, there’s no reward,” she said. “The reward isn’t, ‘Oh, here’s the chorus, here’s the lyric that makes sense.’ You have to enjoy what it is. You have to enjoy that there’s no conclusion.”

“Club music taught me so much about myself,” she added. “Having patience, or appreciating a different type of way of taking in life.”

The song’s woozy cocoon enveloped us, its heartbeat thumping in our hair, our nails, our feet. Sounds strutted across the room, some joining the blend, some ghosting as quickly as they arrived. “No, you’re not gonna get what you need,” her voice sang from the speakers. “But baby, I have what you want. Come get your honey.” It was overwhelming, gauzy and beautiful. It was its own reward.” – New York Times Pop Music Editor Caryn Ganz

Robyn ‘Honey’ Lyric Video

Robyn ‘Honey’ Track List

1. Missing U
2. Human Being
3. Because It’s In The Music
4. Baby Forgive Me
5. Send To Robin Immediately
6. Honey
7. Between The Lines
8. Beach 2K20
9. Ever Again