“The Artist” Wins Top Honor At Producers Guild Awards

In the last four years, the Producers Guild Awards and the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences have agreed on the best picture winner. Last night, the little black and white, French silent film that could – The Artist took home the top honor of the night, the Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures. If you remember, this film also took home the Golden Globe for best motion picture earlier this month.

Producer Thomas Langmann, the son of acclaimed French actor, writer and director Claude Barri, accepted the award for the film which was directed by Michel Hazanavicius. During his acceptance speech, Thomas said, “when Michel and I dreamed of making ‘The Artist,’ we dreamed of writing a love letter to American cinema,” Langmann said. “We just didn’t know that we would get a taste of the American dream.” This award definitely makes them the front runner for the Oscar nominations which are set to take place this coming Tuesday morning (January 24).

Since making its debut at the Cannes Film Festival last year, the film has generated an enormous amount of buzz including that of it’s two star actors Jean Dujardin and Berenice Bejo. The story follows the fates of silent film star George Valentin (Dujardin) and plucky song-and-dance gal Peppy Miller (Bejo) at the dawn of the talkies. The film is a true tribute to the age of old Hollywood and the films of that time and generation. The Artist wasn’t the only winner of the night. See who else took home awards at last night’s ceremony below.

  • ADAM

    i drove my horse and buggy to the picture show . imagine my su prize when i didnt see no piany player and they tossed me out when i was smoking a fresh healty cigarreete . what an over blown farse this movie is . in my opinion dont waste your cash or this trash