Moonlight Wins Big At 2016 Los Angeles Film Critics Association Awards

lafca-2016-winnersThe Los Angeles Film Critics Association revealed their picks for the best in cinema this weekend. Moonlight, which has won several awards since its Telluride debut in September, picked up another accolade.

It was named Best Picture by the association. In total, the film walked away with four LAFCA Awards including Best Director for Barry Jenkins, Best Supporting Actor for co-star Mahershala Ali and Best Cinematography for James Laxton.

For reference, Spotlight won LAFCA’s Best Picture award last year and went on to experience Oscar glory as well. Though the critics group correctly picked last year, their track record isn’t the greatest. Since 2006, only two times have they correctly predicted the big prize at the Academy Awards. Moonlight shouldn’t prepare that acceptance speech just yet.

With regards to the acting awards, Adam Driver pulled an upset in the Best Actor category. The Girls actor beat out Oscar frontrunner Casey Affleck (Manchester By The Sea) for his work in Paterson. Affleck’s costar Michelle Williams was also a runner-up in her category. She lost Best Supporting Actress to Lily Gladstone (Certain Women).

This year’s ceremony, which is dedicated to late director Curtis Hanson, will be held on January 14 at the InterContinental Hotel in Century City. Shirley MacLaine is the recipient of this year’s Career Achievement award. Check out all the winners and runner-ups below.

2016 LAFCA Award Winners

Best Picture

WINNER: Moonlight
WINNER: La La Land

Best Director

WINNER: Barry Jenkins – Moonlight
WINNER: Damien Chazelle – La La Land

Best Actor

WINNER: Adam Driver – Paterson
WINNER: Casey Affleck – Manchester by the Sea

Best Actress

WINNER: Isabelle Huppert – Elle
WINNER: Rebecca Hall – Christine

Best Supporting Actor

WINNER: Mahershala Ali – Moonlight
WINNER: Issy Ogata – Silence

Best Supporting Actress

WINNER: Lily Gladstone – Certain Women
WINNER: Michelle Williams – Manchester by the Sea

Best Animation

WINNER: Your Name.
WINNER: The Red Turtle

Best Foreign Language Film

WINNER: The Handmaiden
WINNER: Toni Erdmann

Best Documentary

WINNER: I Am Not Your Negro
WINNER: OJ: Made in America

Best Screenplay

WINNER: Efthymis Filippou and Yorgos Lanthimos – The Lobster
WINNER: Kenneth Lonergan – Manchester by the Sea

Best Editing

WINNER: Bret Granato, Maya Mumma, Ben Sozanski – OJ: Made in America
WINNER: Tom Cross – La La Land

Best Production Design

WINNER: Ryu Seong-hee – The Handmaiden
WINNER: David Wasco – La La Land

Best Music Score

WINNER: Justin Hurwitz – La La Land
WINNER: Mica Levi – Jackie

Best Cinematography

WINNER: James Laxton – Moonlight
WINNER: Linus Sandgren – La La Land

New Generation Award

WINNER: Trey Edward Shults and Krisha Fairchild – Krisha