Jim Parsons To Receive Special GLAAD Media Award

The Stephen F. Kolzak Award is presented annually at the GLAAD Media Awards. Named in honor of the Los Angeles casting director who devoted the last part of his life to fighting homophobia and AIDS-phobia within the entertainment industry, the award is given to an openly LGBT member of the entertainment or media community for his or her work toward eliminating homophobia.

Since established in 1991, those who have received the honor include Ellen DeGeneres, Martina Navratilova, Roland Emmerich, Laverne Cox and last year’s recipient Troye Sivan. Jim Parsons joins the illustrious list as this year’s honoree.

“Jim Parsons’ talent, humor, and impressive body of work have made him one of the most visible and beloved out LGBTQ actors today,” said Sarah Kate Ellis, GLAAD President and CEO. “Parsons not only proudly tells LGBTQ stories through his roles, but also works behind the camera with his husband Todd to tell LGBTQ stories that raise the bar for Hollywood and inspire acceptance.”

Parsons will receive the award at the 29th Annual GLAAD Media Awards in Los Angeles at Beverly Hilton on Thursday, April 12, 2018. Also receiving a special award that night is Britney Spears. The “Toxic” hitmaker was previously announced as this year’s Vanguard Award winner for her support of the LGBTQ community.

In addition to The Big Bang Theory, Parsons can next be seen on Broadway in the revival of the iconic comic drama The Boys in the Band which opens on May 31, 2018.