One of our most favorite shows returns to HBO this Sunday and I could NOT be more excited. To coincide with the beginning of its second season, Girls has released a soundtrack compilation filled with songs from the most memorable moments of season one, and a few sneak peaks into season two. The album is an eclectic mix that is perfectly reflective of the show itself.

The album opens up with one of my favorite songs, and best moments of season one. Robyn’s “Dancing on My Own” was the perfect song choice for Hannah and Marnie’s dance break after Hannah learns her ex-boyfriend Elijah (Andrew Rannelis) is gay. An amazing scene and probably where I started to fall in love with the show. Next up is a new song from the band fun. which will appear in season two.

fun. ‘Sight of the Sun’

I was so happy to see Icona Pop’s “I Love It” on the track list. It’s a fantastic song and I was even more excited to hear it would be making an appearance in the second season of Girls. Also making appearances on the soundtrack are tracks from Santigold, White Sea, Grouplove, Brooklyn based The Echo Friendly, Belle & Sebastian, Fleet Foxes, The Vaccines, and Lie Ices.

Other album highlights include Oh Land’s “White Nights” which plays in the cab after Hannah is thrown off of Adam’s bike and she begins to smile, as he is now officially her boyfriend. An incredibly awkward yet loveable scene with music that contrasts the dark tone of the fight seconds prior.

The album closes with an original number by Sean Penn’s brother Michael. “On Your Way” plays in that memorable scene from the end of season one when Hannah is sitting on the beach eating leftover wedding cake after a big fight with Adam. It was such a great way to end the season. Here’s the full album track list…

Girls Volume 1: Music From The HBO Original Series

  • Robyn: Dancing on My Own
  • Fun.: Sight of the Sun
  • Harper Simon: Wishes and Stars
  • Santigold: Girls
  • White Sea: Overdrawn
  • Grouplove: Everyone’s Gonna Get High
  • Icona Pop: I Love It
  • The Echo Friendly: Same Mistakes
  • Belle & Sebastian: I Don’t Love Anyone
  • Fleet Foxes: Montezuma
  • Oh Land: White Nights
  • The Vaccines: Wreckin’ Bar (Ra Ra Ra)
  • Lia Ices: Love Is Won
  • Michael Penn: On Your Way

If you guys can’t wait until Sunday for the season two premiere I definitely recommend checking out this mix-tape style soundtrack while reliving some of the best moments of season one!