Christina Aguilera Revs Up On Underwhelming Comeback Single ‘Accelerate’

Fighters have waited patiently for a new album from their diva. Six years to be exact since Lotus dropped in 2012. The drought is finally over. Christina Aguilera just launched her comeback with “Accelerate.” It’s the lead cut off her long-awaited eight studio album, titled Liberation, out June 15.

Accelerate,” featuring rappers Ty Dolla $ign and 2 Chainz, was written by Aguilera herself along Kanye West and a slew of other writers. “Accelerate, c’mon babe / Pick up your speed / Stamina, fill me up / That’s what I need,” they sang and rapped in the chorus. “Another shot, you comin’ home with me / F–k all these drugs, f–k all these clubs / What’s wrong with me,” X-Tina belts on the track.

Honestly, I don’t know what to think of the single. As a huge Christina fan, it pains me to say that I’m underwhelmed. I was hoping for a catchy bombastic banger. If she’s hoping to score a hit with “Accelerate,” I don’t think it’s going to happen. Sadly, I think her moniker as of late “Flop-Tina” is gonna stick. Here’s hoping the rest of the LP has some gems. Her Demi Lovato-assisted “Fall In Line” looks promising.

Check out the “Accelerate” music video below directed by Zoey Grossman. If you have a lip or tongue fetish, it’s for you. Christina’s mouth area is featured prominently throughout. Weigh in afterward if you think “Accelerate” is a hit or a miss.

Christina Aguilera ‘Accelerate’

Christina Aguilera Liberation Track Listing

1. Liberation
2. Searching for Maria
3. Maria
4. Sick of Sittin’
5. Dreamers
6. Fall in Line (feat. Demi Lovato)
7. Right Moves (feat. Keida and Shenseea)
8. Like I Do
9. Deserve
10. Twice
11. I Don’t Need It Anymore (Interlude)
12. Accelerate [Explicit] (feat. Ty Dolla $ign and 2 Chainz)
13. Pipe
14. Masochist
15. Unless It’s With You

  • Fred

    I was so excited and this sucks.

  • Hamilcar Racho

    I don’t know about you guys, but Accelerate is growing on me.

  • Ryan

    Well, I’m glad that I still love “Stripped” and “Back to Basics”.

  • CT

    This song is an absolute mess