In an extravagant ceremony hosted by Reba McEntire and Blake Shelton, and between two venues on the Las Vegas strip, country music showed the world they are proud and ready to party. The more chill of the country music award shows, tonight offered a very wide variety of mashed up performances featuring some today’s hottest country acts mixed with rockers, pop stars and the like.

What was also random about last night’s party was the list of guests and presenters that had little or nothing to do with country music. Presenters like Chase Crawford from Gossip Girl and Nancy O’Dell and Robert Pattinson. But the night was truly about the country music with some memorable performances taking place throughout the night from both Mandalay and the MGM. Brad Paisley performed with group Alabama and Carrie Underwood took to the stage to sing her hit Undo It with new Idol judge Steven Tyler. After a bunch of top notch country performances and big winners (mostly Miranda Lambert who seemed to clean house), we were treated to a performance from Jennifer Nettles and Rihanna. An odd pairing, I know.

The night ended off with three of the top spot awards: Male Vocalist of the Year which Marg Helgenburger of CSI presented, Female Vocalist of the Year which was given out by new co-stars Robert Pattinson and Reese Witherspoon and rounding off the Entertainer of the Year award was none other than camera hog, Ryan Seacrest. All of this with filler performances from host Reba herself and a Zac Brown Band/James Taylor doing a little Colder Weather. Overall, an entertaining show with lots of music to to fill your ears and random moments to keep it interesting.

  • Entertainer of the Year: Taylor Swift
  • Male Vocalist of the Year: Brad Paisley
  • Female Vocalist of the Year: Miranda Lambert
  • Vocal Duo of the Year: Sugarland
  • Vocal Group of the Year: Lady Antebellum
  • New Solo Vocalist of the Year: Eric Church
  • New Vocal Duo or Group of the Year: The Band Perry
  • Top New Artist: The Band Perry
  • Album of the Year: “Need You Now” – Lady Antebellum
  • Single Record of the Year (Producers): “The House That Built Me” – Miranda Lambert, Produced by Frank Liddell and Mike Wrucke
  • Song of the Year (Songwriters): “The House That Built Me” – Miranda Lambert, Writers Tom Douglas and Allen Shamblin
  • Video of the Year: “The House That Built Me” – Miranda Lambert
  • Vocal Event of the Year: “As She’s Walking Away” – Zac Brown Band featuring Alan Jackson