2018 Writers Guild Awards: Film & Documentary Nominations

Last month, the Writers Guild of America revealed their picks for the best in television. Just one day before the Oscar nomination ballots are sent to Academy voters, the WGA has unveiled its feature film and documentary nominations.

Definitely the biggest surprise for me is that Logan picked up a Best Adapted Screenplay nom. The Hugh Jackman film will compete against Oscar contenders Call Me By Your Name, The Disaster Artist, Molly’s Game and Mudbound.

Even though Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri failed to secure a nod due to not meeting WGA eligibility standards, it’s still deemed a solid bet to snag an Oscar original screenplay nomination. Other films that weren’t WGA Awards eligible include Anthony McCarten’s Winston Churchill biopic Darkest Hour, Disney’s Coco and The Killing of a Sacred Deer.

The 2018 WGA Awards will be handed out February 11 in dual ceremonies in Los Angeles and New York. LGBTQ rights activist Dustin Lance Black will receive its 2018 Valentine Davies Award in recognition for his civil and human rights efforts.

Check out all the nominations below.

2018 Writers Guild Awards Nominations


The Big Sick, Written by Emily V. Gordon & Kumail Nanjiani; Amazon Studios

Get Out, Written by Jordan Peele; Universal Pictures

I, Tonya, Written by Steven Rogers; Neon

Lady Bird, Written by Greta Gerwig; A24

The Shape of Water, Screenplay by Guillermo del Toro & Vanessa Taylor; Story by Guillermo del Toro; Fox Searchlight


Call Me by Your Name, Screenplay by James Ivory; Based on the Novel by André Aciman; Sony Pictures Classics

The Disaster Artist, Screenplay by Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber; Based on the Book The Disaster Artist: My Life Inside the Room, the Greatest Bad Movie Ever Made by Greg Sestero and Tom Bissell; A24

Logan, Screenplay by Scott Frank & James Mangold and Michael Green; Story by James Mangold; Based on Characters from the X-Men Comic Books and Theatrical Motion Pictures; Twentieth Century Fox Film

Molly’s Game, Screenplay by Aaron Sorkin; Based on the Book by Molly Bloom; STX Entertainment

Mudbound, Screenplay by Virgil Williams and Dee Rees; Based on the Novel by Hillary Jordan; Netflix


Betting on Zero, Written by Theodore Braun; Gunpowder & Sky

Jane, Written by Brett Morgen; National Geographic

No Stone Unturned, Written by Alex Gibney; Abramorama

Oklahoma City, Written by Barak Goodman; American Experience Films