2018 WAFCA Award Winners: Lady Gaga Picks Up Another Acting Win, ‘Roma’ Adds To Its Haul & More

What are the WAFCA Awards? They’re the Washington, D.C. Area Film Critics Association and the organization is just the latest to reveal its picks for the best in cinema in 2018.

Triumphing with four wins is Alfonso Cuarón’s sweeping black-and-white ode to his real-life childhood nanny. Roma, a Mexico-set period drama, won Best Film, Best Director, Best Foreign Language Film and Best Cinematography.

A Star Is Born was also a big winner. Both Bradley Cooper and Lady Gaga picked up leading acting awards for their star-crossed musical love story. Gaga sure is making it known she’s a serious Oscar contender for Best Actress at next year’s Oscars.

Picking up Best Supporting acting awards were Mahershala Ali for Green Book and Regina King for If Beale Street Could Talk. Check out all the winners below.

2018 WAFCA Award Winners Complete List

Best Film
The Favourite
Green Book
If Beale Street Could Talk
A Star Is Born

Best Director
Ryan Coogler (Black Panther)
Bradley Cooper (A Star Is Born)
Alfonso Cuarón (Roma) – WINNER
Barry Jenkins (If Beale Street Could Talk)
Yorgos Lanthimos (The Favourite)

Best Actor
Christian Bale (Vice)
Bradley Cooper (A Star Is Born) – WINNER
Ethan Hawke (First Reformed)
Rami Malek (Bohemian Rhapsody)
Viggo Mortensen (Green Book)

Best Actress
Glenn Close (The Wife)
Toni Collette (Hereditary)
Olivia Colman (The Favourite)
Lady Gaga (A Star Is Born) – WINNER
Melissa McCarthy (Can You Ever Forgive Me?)

Best Supporting Actor
Mahershala Ali (Green Book) – WINNER
Timothée Chalamet (Beautiful Boy)
Sam Elliott (A Star Is Born)
Richard E. Grant (Can You Ever Forgive Me?)
Michael B. Jordan (Black Panther)

Best Supporting Actress
Cynthia Erivo (Bad Times at the El Royale)
Nicole Kidman (Boy Erased)
Regina King (If Beale Street Could Talk) – WINNER
Emma Stone (The Favourite)
Rachel Weisz (The Favourite)

Best Acting Ensemble
Black Panther
The Favourite – WINNER
If Beale Street Could Talk

Best Youth Performance
Elsie Fisher (Eighth Grade) – WINNER
Thomasin Harcourt McKenzie (Leave No Trace)
Milly Shapiro (Hereditary)
Millicent Simmonds (A Quiet Place)
Amandla Stenberg (The Hate U Give)

Best Voice Performance
Bryan Cranston (Isle of Dogs) – WINNER
Holly Hunter (Incredibles 2)
Shameik Moore (Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse)
Sarah Silverman (Ralph Breaks the Internet)
Ben Whishaw (Paddington 2)

Best Motion Capture Performance
Josh Brolin (Avengers: Infinity War) – WINNER
Tye Sheridan (Ready Player One)
Phoebe Waller-Bridge (Solo: A Star Wars Story)

Best Original Screenplay
Bo Burnham (Eighth Grade)
Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara (The Favourite) – WINNER
Paul Schrader (First Reformed)
Nick Vallelonga & Brian Currie & Peter Farrelly (Green Book)
Alfonso Cuarón (Roma)

Best Adapted Screenplay
Charlie Wachtel & David Rabinowitz and Kevin Willmott & Spike Lee (BlacKkKlansman)
Ryan Coogler & Joe Robert Cole (Black Panther)
Nicole Holofcener and Jeff Whitty (Can You Ever Forgive Me?) – WINNER
Barry Jenkins (If Beale Street Could Talk)
Eric Roth and Bradley Cooper & Will Fetters (A Star Is Born)

Best Animated Feature
Incredibles 2
Isle of Dogs – WINNER
Ralph Breaks the Internet
Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse

Best Documentary
Free Solo
Science Fair
Three Identical Strangers
Won’t You Be My Neighbor? – WINNER

Best Foreign Language Film
Cold War

Best Production Design
Production Designer: Hannah Beachler; Set Decorator: Jay Hart (Black Panther) – WINNER
Production Designer: Fiona Crombie; Set Decorator: Alice Felton (The Favourite)
Production Designer: Nathan Crowley; Set Decorator: Kathy Lucas (First Man)
Production Designer: John Myhre; Set Decorator: Gordon Sim (Mary Poppins Returns)
Production Designer: Eugenio Caballero; Set Decorator: Bárbara Enríquez (Roma)

Best Cinematography
Robbie Ryan, BSC (The Favourite)
Linus Sandgren, FSF (First Man)
James Laxton (If Beale Street Could Talk)
Alfonso Cuarón (Roma) – WINNER
Matthew Libatique, ASC (A Star Is Born)

Best Editing
Yorgos Mavropsaridis, ACE (The Favourite)
Tom Cross, ACE (First Man) – WINNER
Alfonso Cuarón, Adam Gough (Roma)
Jay Cassidy, ACE (A Star Is Born)
Joe Walker, ACE (Widows)

Best Original Score
Ludwig Göransson (Black Panther)
Justin Hurwitz (First Man)
Nicholas Britell (If Beale Street Could Talk) – WINNER
Thom Yorke (Suspiria)
Hans Zimmer (Widows)

The Joe Barber Award for Best Portrayal of Washington, DC
The Front Runner