2017 L.A. Film Critics Association Awards: ‘Call Me By Your Name’ Continues Winning Streak

Luca Guadagnino’s coming-of-age romance continued its winning streak this past weekend. The L.A. Film Critics Association is just the latest critics group to shower Call Me By Your Name with awards. It not only walked away with Best Picture but also Best Director for Guadagnino and Best Actor for Timothée Chalamet. Hopefully, it can maintain this momentum leading up to the 90th Academy Awards.

Another big story from the 2017 LAFCAs is that Guillermo del Toro’s The Shape Of Water finally got noticed during this awards season. While it walked away with the Venice Film Festival’s top prize, until now, it’s been snubbed by Oscar precursors including the National Board Of Review, Gotham IFP and New York Critics Circle. Del Toro tied Guadagnino for Best Director honors and its leading lady, Sally Hawkins, snagged Best Actress.

French queer film BPM (Beats Per Minute) also picked up another accolade, walking away with Best Foreign Language Film. Laurie Metcalf chalked up another win for her stunning turn in Lady Bird. If I were a betting man, I’d bet it all on Metcalf to score the Oscar. She’s looking unstoppable at this point.

Check out all the winners and runner-ups below.

2017 L.A. Film Critics Association Award Winners

Picture:Call Me by Your Name
Runner-up:The Florida Project

Director: Guillermo del Toro, The Shape of Water and Luca Guadagnino, Call Me by Your Name (tie)

Actress: Sally Hawkins, The Shape of Water
Runner-up: Frances McDormand, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Actor: Timothée Chalamet, Call Me by Your Name
Runner-up: James Franco, The Disaster Artist

Supporting actress: Laurie Metcalf, Lady Bird
Runner-up: Mary J. Blige, Mudbound

Supporting actor: Willem Dafoe, The Florida Project
Runner-up: Sam Rockwell, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Animated film:The Breadwinner

Foreign-language film:BPM (Beats Per Minute) and Loveless (tie)

Documentary/nonfiction:Faces Places

Screenplay: Jordan Peele, Get Out
Runner-up: Martin McDonagh, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Editing: Lee Smith, Dunkirk
Runner-up: Tatiana S. Riegel, I, Tonya

Production design: Dennis Gassner, Blade Runner 2049
Runner-up: Paul D. Austerberry, The Shape of Water

Music/score: Jonny Greenwood,Phantom Thread
Runner-up: Alexandre Desplat,The Shape of Water

Cinematography: Dan Laustsen, The Shape of Water
Runner-up: Roger Deakins, Blade Runner 2049

Douglas Edwards Independent/Experimental Film/Video Prize: Lee Anne Schmitt’s Purge This Land

Career Achievement Award: Max von Sydow

New Generation: Greta Gerwig