69th Annual Director’s Guild of America Awards Nominations

Since the group’s first awards ceremony in 1948, only seven of its winners haven’t repeated at the Oscars. The most recent glaring exception took place in 2013 when Ben Affleck won the DGA’s top prize for Argo but didn’t even snag an Academy Award nomination. In fact, three of the DGA’s nominees that year failed to make the Oscar.

The 69th annual class features all first-time nominees. Damien Chazelle (La La Land), Barry Jenkins (Moonlight) and Kenneth Lonergan (Manchester by the Sea) scored nods as expected, but the inclusions of Lion director Garth Davis and Arrival filmmaker Denis Villeneuve were a bit of a surprise. On average, one of DGA’s nominees per year fail to repeat with an Oscar mention. Who will be this year’s casualty?

The guild also honors first time feature film directors. Davis, who was nominated here as well, is the frontrunner since he’s also included in the main category. He’ll compete against Kelly Fremon Craig (The Edge of Seventeen), Tim Miller (Deadpool), Nate Parker (The Birth of a Nation) and Dan Trachtenberg (10 Cloverfield Lane).

Chazelle and Jenkins are the odds on favorites to win. If either does, they will make history. Chazelle would become the youngest winner while Jenkins will make history as the first African-American winner. The 2017 DGA Awards ceremony will be held Feb. 4 at the Beverly Hilton in Los Angeles.

69th DGA Awards Nominations

Feature Film Nominees

Damien Chazelle – La La Land
Garth Davis – Lion
Barry Jenkins – Moonlight
Kenneth Lonergan – Manchester by the Sea
Denis Villeneuve – Arrival

First-Time Feature Film Nominees

Kelly Fremon Craig – The Edge of Seventeen
Garth Davis – Lion
Tim Miller – Deadpool
Nate Parker – Birth of a Nation
Dan Trachtenberg – 10 Cloverfield Lane