2016 Independent Spirit Awards: Cate Blanchett, Brie Larson, Idris Elba Score Nominations


For the past couple of years, several Film Independent Spirit Awards winners have also gone on to Oscar glory. Both 12 Years a Slave and Birdman took home the big prizes at ceremonies in 2014 and 2015 respectively.

The acting category winners have also fared well. Matthew Mcconaughey, Jared Leto, Patricia Arquette, Julianne Moore, JK Simmons and Cate Blanchett are all recent winners at both awards shows.

Speaking of Blanchett, she’s once again in the hunt for Best Actress. She’ll go up against her Carol co-star Rooney Mara and Oscar frontrunner Room‘s Brie Larson.

Spotlight which scored a Best Feature nod, surprisingly didn’t snag any solo acting nominations. Buzz surrounding the performances of Mark Ruffalo, Michael Keaton and Rachel McAdams has been huge. Poor McAdams, I fear she’ll once again be shut out when the Oscar nominations are announced. The film did, however, snag the Robert Altman Award for Best Ensemble.

Check out all the 2016 Film Spirit Independent Award nominations below. Idris Elba, Jennifer Jason Leigh, Cynthia Nixon and Michael Shannon are just a few vying for awards.

2016 Independent Spirit Awards Nominations

Best Feature

“Beasts of No Nation”

Best Director

Charlie Kaufman & Duke Johnson, “Anomalisa”
Cary Joji Fukunaga, “Beasts of No Nation”
Todd Haynes, “Carol”
David Robert Mitchell, “It Follows”
Tom McCarthy, “Spotlight”
Sean Baker, “Tangerine”

Best Female Lead

Cate Blanchett, “Carol”
Rooney Mara, “Carol”
Bel Powley, “The Diary of a Teenage Girl”
Brie Larson, “Room”
Kitana Kiki Rodriguez, “Tangerine”

Best Male Lead

Abraham Attah, “Beasts of No Nation”
Jason Segel, “The End of the Tour”
Christopher Abbot, “James White”
Koudous Seihon, “Mediterranea”
Ben Mendelsohn, “Mississippi Grind”

Best Supporting Female

Jennifer Jason Leigh, “Anomalisa”
Marin Ireland, “Glass Chin”
Robin Bartlett, “H.”
Cynthia Nixon, “James White”
Mya Taylor, “Tangerine”

Best Supporting Male

Idris Elba, “Beasts of No Nation”
Richard Jenkins, “Bone Tomahawk”
Paul Dano, “Love & Mercy”
Kevin Corrigan, “Results”
Michael Shannon, “99 Homes”

Best Screenplay

“Bone Tomahawk”
“The End of the Tour”

Best First Feature

“The Diary of a Teenage Girl”
“James White”
“Manos Sucas”
“Songs My Brothers Taught Me”

Best First Screenplay

“The Diary of a Teenage Girl”
“Me and Earl and the Dying Girl”
“The Mend”

Best Editing

“Beasts of No Nation”
“Heaven Knows What”
“It Follows”

Best Cinematography

“Beasts of No Nation”
“It Follows”
“Songs My Brothers Taught Me”

Best Documentary

“Best of Enemies”
“Heart of a Dog”
“The Look of Silence”
“The Russian Woodpecker”

Best International Film

“Embrace of the Serpent”
“A Pigeon Sat on a Branch Reflecting on Existence”
“Son of Saul”

John Cassavetes Award

“Christmas, Again”
“Heaven Knows What”
“Out of My Hand”

Robert Altman Award