Spotlight Wins 2015 Los Angeles Film Critics Association Best Picture Award


Spotlight notched another Best Picture win under its belt this awards season. The film about the 2002 Boston Globe investigation into sex abuse in the Catholic Church also won Best Screenplay.

Though the film won the top award, Best Picture runner-up Mad Max: Fury Road snagged the most awards. The George Miller epic earned three honors, including Best Director, Best Production Design and Best Cinematography.

Over on the acting front, Michael Fassbender was named Best Actor for Steve Jobs, while Charlotte Rampling impressed the LAFCA committee with her work in 45 Years to win Best Actress. Alicia Vikander and Michael Shannon were named the Best Supporting Actress and Actor for Ex Machina and 99 Homes respectively.

Kristen Stewart lost out to Vikander but she was named the runner-up. I’m thinking the Twilight actress’ name will be read come Oscar nomination day. She’s definitely picking up some precursor momentum.

Check out all the winners and runner-ups below. This year’s LAFCA winners will be honored at an event in Los Angeles on January 9.

2015 Los Angeles Film Critics Association Winners

Best Picture: “Spotlight”
Runner up: “Mad Max: Fury Road”

Best Director: George Miller, “Mad Max: Fury Road”
Runner up: Todd Haynes, “Carol”

Best Actress: Charlotte Rampling, “45 Years”
Runner up: Saoirse Ronan, “Brooklyn”

Best Actor: Michael Fassbender, “Steve Jobs”
Runner up: Geza Rohrig, “Son of Saul”

Best Screenplay: Josh Singer and Tom McCarthy, “Spotlight”
Runner up: Charlie Kaufman, “Anomalisa”

Best Foreign Language Film: “Son of Saul”
Runner up: “The Tribe”

Best Animation: “Anomalisa”
Runner up: “Inside Out (2015)”

Best Supporting Actress: Alicia Vikander, “Ex Machina”
Runner up: Kristen Stewart, “Clouds of Sils Maria”

Best Supporting Actor: Michael Shannon, “99 Homes”
Runner up: Mark Rylance, “Bridge of Spies”

Best Documentary: “Amy”
Runner up: “The Look of Silence”

Best Cinematography: John Seale, “Mad Max: Fury Road”
Runner up: Edward Lachman, “Carol”

Best Music Score: Carter Burwell, “Anomalisa” and “Carol”
Runner up: Ennio Morricone, “The Hateful Eight”

Best Production Design: Colin Gibson, “Mad Max: Fury Road”
Runner up: Judy Becker, “Carol”

Best Editing: Hank Corwin, “The Big Short”
Runner up: Margaret Sixel, “Mad Max: Fury Road”

New Generation Award: Ryan Coogler, “Creed”

Career Achievement: Anne V. Coates, film editor