2013 Oscar Watch: National Society of Film Critics Winners

The National Society of Film Critics showed some major love to French film Amour. The heartbreaking drama about an aging couple battling declining health won top honors with the film critic organization. The film’s leading lady, Emmanuelle Riva, also walked away with Best Actress for her outstanding work. She beat out Jessica Chastain (Zero Dark Thirty) and Jennifer Lawrence (Silver Linings Playbook) who were declared runners-up in the category. Amour walked away with Best Director honors as well. The National Society of Film Critics’ choices were revealed this weekend on January 5, just days before the Academy Awards announce its 2013 nominations on Thursday, January 10.

Winning for Best Actor was Daniel Day-Lewis for his performance in Lincoln. With all the accolades he’s picked up along the way during this awards season, I would be shocked if he didn’t hear his name this Thursday. He’s definitely the frontrunner for Oscar glory again. Day-Lewis previously won twice for My Left Foot (1989) and There Will Be Blood (2007). Can he three-peat like Meryl Streep & Jack Nicholson? If he does, his trio of golden statues will be more impressive than Nicholson’s. One of Jack’s awards was for Best Supporting Actor. Check out all the winners and runners-up below.

2013 National Society of Film Critics Winners

Best Picture

  • Winner: Amour
  • Runners-up: The Master; Zero Dark Thirty

Best Actor

  • Winner: Daniel Day-Lewis, Lincoln
  • Runners-up: Denis Lavant, Holy Motors; Joaquin Phoenix, The Master

Best Actress

  • Winner: Emmanuelle Riva, Amour
  • Runners-up: Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook; Jessica Chastain, Zero Dark Thirty

Best Supporting Actor

  • Winner: Matthew McConaughey, Magic Mike/Bernie
  • Runners-up: Tommy Lee Jones, Lincoln; Philip Seymour Hoffman, The Master

Best Supporting Actress

  • Winner: Amy Adams, The Master
  • Runners-up: Sally Field, Lincoln; Anne Hathaway, Les Miserables

Best Director

  • Winner: Michael Haneke, Amour
  • Runners-up: Kathryn Bigelow, Zero Dark Thirty; Paul Thomas Anderson, The Master

Best Nonfiction

  • Winner: The Gatekeepers
  • Runners-up: This Is Not a Film; Searching for Sugar Man

Best Screenplay

  • Winner: Tony Kushner, Lincoln
  • Runners-up: Paul Thomas Anderson, The Master; David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook

Best Cinematography

  • Winner: Mihai Malaimare, Jr., The Master
  • Runners-up: Roger Deakins, Skyfall; Greig Fraser, Zero Dark Thirty

Best Experimental Film

  • This Is Not a Film by Jafar Panahi

Film Heritage Awards

  • Laurence Kardish, Senior Film Curator at MoMA, for his extraordinary 44 years of service, including this year’s Weimar Cinema retrospective; and Milestone Film and Video for their ongoing Shirley Clarke project.
  • Wow this can’t be serious… Matthew winner to supporting Actor, c’mon this is ridiculous.