2012 Oscar Watch: Writers Guild Award Nominations

Typically comedies receive the short end of the stick when it comes to awards shows. Year after year, dramatic performances win favor with critics and award committees over comedic ones. Common perception is that making people laugh is a lot easier than evoking sadness and anger with movie goers. That couldn’t be further from the truth. All you need to make me cry is put on some sweeping ballad with some slow motion clips and the tears will start pouring out. Yup, I’m a sappy person at heart.

The Writers Guild of America revealed their nominations and surprisingly comedic screenplays dominated. Lighthearted fare including “Young Adult” and “Bridesmaids” earned nods while dramatic frontrunners were shut out including “Iron Lady“, “War Horse“, “Drive” and “My Week With Marilyn“. Even “The Artist” which has dominated many Oscar precursors didn’t make the cut. That being said, the black and white silent film along with a few of those aforementioned flicks were deemed ineligible by the WGA’s tight qualifying rules.

The winners of the 2012 Writer Guild Awards will be announced during a ceremony that will be held in New York and Los Angeles on February 19. In meantime, check out all the nominated original and adapted screenplays below. If you enter your office Oscar pool, it’s time to start brushing up in the writing categories if you have any hopes of winning.

Best Original Screenplay

  • “50/50” – Written by Will Reiser
  • “Bridesmaids” – Written by Annie Mumolo and Kristen Wiig
  • “Midnight in Paris” – Written by Woody Allen
  • “Win Win” – Screenplay by Thomas McCarthy; Story by Thomas McCarthy and Joe Tibon
  • “Young Adult” – Written by Diablo Cody

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • “The Descendants” – Screenplay by Alexander Payne, Nat Faxon and Jim Rash; Based on the novel by Kaui Hart Hemming
  • “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (2011)” – Screenplay by Steven Zaillian; Based on the novel by Stieg Larsson
  • “The Help” – Screenplay by Tate Taylor; Based on the novel by Kathryn Stockett
  • “Hugo” – Screenplay by John Logan; Based on the book The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick
  • “Moneyball” – Screenplay by Steven Zaillian and Aaron Sorkin; Story by Stan Chervin; Based on the book by Michael Lewis

Best Documentary Screenplay

  • “Better This World” – Written by Katie Galloway and Kelly Duane de la Vega
  • “If a Tree Falls: A Story of the Earth Liberation Front” – Written by Marshall Curry and Matthew Hamachek
  • “Nostalgia for the Light” – Written by Patricio Guzman
  • “Pina” – Screenplay by Wim Wenders
  • “Position Among the Stars” – Script by Hetty Naaijkens-Retel Helmrich, Leonard Retel Helmrich
  • “Senna” – Written by Manish Pandey