The 8th Annual Out Music Award Winners Are…

This past weekend, the 8th Annual OUTMUSIC Awards (OMAs) took place in Las Vegas. As part of a three year partnership with Caesars Entertainment, the LGBT Academy of Recording Arts (LARA) held the weekend-long event at Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino Las Vegas. The yearly awards celebrate the best in LGBT music culture and heritage. Artists ranging across musical genres gave stellar performances sending a united message of that music is music,  love is for everyone and that freedom of expression is our inalienable rights. 

Hosting this year’s festivities was Ms. Lillian McMorris. Walking away with hardware from the ceremonies were a few notable names including friends of Matt Zarley and Jeffrey Straker. We’ve followed both these guys’ respective careers for some time now and want to congratulate them on their success. Also winning an award was The Voice Season 1 alum Vicci Martinez. The openly lesbian rocker, fittingly enough, won Best Rock Song with her Voice mentor Cee Lo Green. Check out all the other winners below.

8th Annual Out Music Awards

Best Alternative Song
Winner – Love Darling – “Let Go”

Best Rock Song
Winner – Vicci Martinez – “Come Along” feat Cee Lo Green

Best Pop Song
Winner – Todd Alsup – “The Only Thing”

Best Hip-Hop/Rap Song
Winner – KIN4Life “It’s Over Now”

Best R&B/Soul Song – (Tie)
Winner – Nhojj – “Live Your Life”
Winner – B Slade – “I’m Done” (feat. Yummy Bingham)

Best Dance/Electronica
Winner – Frenchie Davis – “Loves Got A Hold On Me”

Best Folk/Country
Winner – Antigone Rising – “Everywhere Is Home”

Best Song On A Soundtrack/Instrumental
Winner – Mark Barnes – “Gabby’s Song” (A Tribute To Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords)

Single of the Year
Winner – Matt Zarley – “Change Begins With Me”

Video of the Year
Winner – Jeffery Straker – “Slings and Arrows”

Album of the Year
Winner – Matt Zarley – “Change Begins With Me”

Best Jazz/Cabaret Song
Winner- Avi Wisnia – “Maoz Tsur (Rock of Ages)

Best Spiritual/Inspirational Song
Winner – Jason Walker – “I Am Changing”

Best Spoken Word
Winner – Red Summer – “Loose Woman”

Best International Song
Winner – Virago – “Love Over Fear”

Biello-Martin Love Song
Winner – Brett Every – “What A Beautiful Day”

Best Producer of the Year
Winner – Michael V. Doane – “Little Kid”

Best CD Cover Artwork
Winner – Rachael Sage – “Haunted By You”

Sonicbids Humanitarian Songwriter of the Year
Winner – Frankie Love “Now Is The Time”